The Legislature

Parliament consists of the President and the National Assembly. The National Assembly consists of members who are directly elected (currently 57) and six(6) specially elected members.The Attorney Genral is the ex-officio member of Parliament

The Speaker of the National Assembly presides over all the proceedings of the body, and is elected by the members. The Attorney General is the principal legal advisor to the National Assembly. The main functions of Parliament are to pass laws, scrutinise or monitor government policies and activities. The general elections were last held in October 2019. The next general elections are to be held in 2024. Results of the last election were as follows:

Political Party                                                   Percentage vote by Party                 Seats by Party

Botswana Democratic Party (BDP)                               52.65%                                                        38  (ruling party)

Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC)                     35.89%                                                           15

Alliance for Progressives (AP)                                         5.12%                                                               1

Botswana Patriotic Front (BPF)                                     4.41%                                                               3

Botswana Movement for Democracy (BMD)               0.27%                                                              0

Real Alternative Party (RAP)                                           0.02%                                                              0

Independent Candidates                                                   1.65%                                                               0


For more information  please go to

House of Chiefs

is also the Ntlo ya Dikgosi (House of Chiefs)is a  35-member  advisory body on tribal and customary matters.It has  eight (8) ex-officio members  and 27 non-permanent members serving 5-year terms, of which 22 are elected and  the remaining 5 appointed by the President.The House is presided over by the Chairperson of Ntlo Ya Dikgosi assisted by the Deputy Chairperson are both elected every 2 and half years.